Alexandra de Blas is the principal of de Blas Communications — a business specialising in social and environmental sustainability. Alexandra is an award winning environmental & science communicator with more than twenty years media experience ­– including eight as the voice of Earthbeat, ABC Radio National’s specialist environment program.

She established de Blas Communications to:

  • Provide communications strategy and public relations support to organisations committed to creating a better society
  • Write, produce and present works for radio, screen and print
  • Provide public speaking and facilitation services.

She has received a number of national and international journalism awards including the 3rd World Water Forum Journalists prize, Kyoto, Japan; and the United Nations Association of Australia World Environment Day Award. She sits on the Editorial Advisory Board of CSIRO’s Ecos magazine and contributes regularly. She is a Vincent Fairfax Fellow and a member of the Italian based GreenAccord international network of environmental journalists.

From 2005 – 2008 Alexandra was the Communications Strategist at Bush Heritage Australia, where she was responsible for rebranding the organisation, dramatically increasing media exposure  and building its profile and reputation at the national and international level.

In 1994, Alexandra’s research on pollution from the Mt Lyell copper mine in Tasmania and her stand against defamation threats from the company received national media attention including an SBS Dateline story which won a Walkley award and the Eureka Prize for Environmental Reporting.

At the same time she played an integral role in the establishment of the French black truffle industry in Tasmania.

Alexandra began her career as a Rural Reporter with the ABC in Outback Queensland, and then went on to broadcast on the Country Hour in Tasmania and Victoria.

Her qualifications include a Bachelor of Science Degree from the University of Sydney, and First Class Honours in Environmental Studies from the University of Tasmania.